30 days

Senza titolo

It’s been almost a month since I moved here in Amsterdam: There are many chances to find a nice and well paid work here, but at the moment I’m waiting for the City Hall to release my Service Number to actually work and open a bank account. I’ve been walking around the city giving many CVs in shops and stuff, and apparently a couple of places are actually interested in having me at work with them, so hopefully at the beginning of August I’ll be able to start working. As for the rest, I can’t complain about anything, really: This city is great. Except for the weather and the food, everything is very nice here, and I still haven’t met a single person who isn’t excited about living here, wether I’m talking to an expat or someone who’s born and lives here since forever, which is very good.

The best thing I can notice about this city is that people is relaxed and happy, because they are free of being who they are without feeling ashamed or hiding from others’ judgements: It’s not that people don’t care if you wear fancy clothes, smoke weed, pay to have sex, or if you’re gay or just look different from the “normal society standards” set by who knows who: They just respect it, because it’s your life and you’re free to do whatever you want with it, as long as you don’t hurt other people.

couple

I know it’s the portrait of the “perfect” country, and maybe there’s surely someone who’s rude and have stupid prejudices, but, well, maybe they are the only ones who are actually hiding, cause I never met them yet. This is probably due to the very international atmosphere you can breathe here: there’s seriously lots of people coming from all parts of the world, a situation that unavoidably leads to a more open minded attitude at the advantage of everyone. You just have a good time here, and people is very open to get close to you as well, and indeed I made lots of friends, which is always very good.

I’m starting to think that moving here has been a very good choice: It’s a place everyone can enjoy, and it goes way beyond the classic image of “marijuana and prostitutes”. Heck, I thought I could never find my passions in here, and then I found some fantastic music stores, retrogames and Japanese music shops… and even beautiful girls from all parts of the world. I couldn’t ask for more to be honest.

Once I’ll find a job, I’ll finally take a deep breathe and enjoy the city even more. And spend those money in vinyls and retrogames. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

